Champions League

Andujar Oliver: Referee got two penalty decisions wrong

Cristiano Ronaldo scored his second of the night against APOEL from the penalty spot but Andujar Oliver believes the referee made an incorrect call in awarding the spot kick in the first place, as well as making another mistake two minutes later.

The incidents occurred in the 51st and 53rd minutes of the Champions League tie at the Estadio Santiago Bernabeu.

“He [French referee Bastien] gives the penalty in the 51st minute when the ball hits Roberto Lago’s shoulder,” Oliver said to Radio MARCA.

“He should not have pointed to the spot.”

The same player took out Ronaldo with a crude tackle in the box but Bastien waved away the protests.

“He let the game play when the penalty is clear,” Oliver concluded.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *